As The Settlement Club approaches its 100th anniversary in 2016, we are taking a look back at our rich history.
We have always been proud of our campus, but our main office is especially unique. The main office was built before the Civil War as a family’s home. The solid craftsmanship has allowed the structure to withstand the test of time. Today, the home is our main office. It houses a conference room, front office, the executive director’s office and another staff member’s office. The small cellar below is used to store supplies.
The main office has served as an inspiration for the rest of our campus. Over the years, we have added new buildings to accommodate our needs. We have kept the look of the limestone throughout our campus.
We were thrilled to meet Carol Meeks Harper, whose family lived in the home from the mid-1940’s to the mid-1960’s. The Settlement Club purchased the home and 10 acres from Carol’s family. We learned so many things from Carol. She shared these photos with us.
|Carol’s (left) family lived in our historic home.|
We look forward to sharing more of our history with you as we approach our 100th anniversary!